Wk10 – Art Experience – Fixing a Wedge

So, as you are probably aware after reading this blog, I’m not an architect. Unlike George Costanza, I have never dreamed of being an architect, either, so this particular project didn’t really play to my strengths. However, I do have some thoughts pertaining to the second wedge, which is overgrown by trees… and fond alumni might not be pleased.

Honestly, as there is no other choice, I would rip out that old tree – it is too overgrown, and is a hassle to that space. I would rip it out, and probably lay more concrete down to widen the area. However, I think I’d still find a way to make use of the tree, as well as staying true to CSULB. I think I would have the tree cut into parts after, and have art students have the opportunity to transform that tree into a useable structure for that area that sort of pays homage to what it was – a bench that still looks like a tree, etc.

Honestly…I really don’t know how else to approach this project. I don’t think I would have done anything differently, except perhaps tried to sketch my idea for the tree’s remains.

 

Leave a Reply

